Introduction

EVE Online (EVE) is a unique MMO that doesn’t follow the typical MMO paradigm. The learning curve is steep, harsh, and mostly unforgiving. Being a long-time World of Warcraft (WOW) player, I will make many comparisons between the two, drawing from my WOW experience to help the new EVE player make his or her mark in the galaxy… or at least survive the first month.

Here’s a comparison of both games’ learning curves (a common misconception):

Image

First, a quick introduction: I played WOW since release, through Burning Crusade, Wrath of the Lich King, and Cataclysm. I’ve leveled every class to 60, and most to 85. My characters have tanked, healed, and DPSed (both melee and ranged) as a druid, paladin, death knight, hunter, and shaman. I have successfully led full-clear, no-drama raids in every expansion and premade battleground teams to victory. By no means do I claim to be the best WOW player out there, but I would say I know more of WOW than the typical casual player.

 I first started EVE in 2006 and had both EVE and WOW for a year and a half. However, “playing” EVE at the time, for me, meant sitting docked in a station just setting skill training… not really DOING anything. In WOW, this doesn’t even amount to hanging out in Stormwind or Orgrimmar, chatting in /guild or (worse,) /trade. After a few months of being gameless, I resubscribed to EVE in October 2011.

And now, a more accurate graph comparing MMO learning curves:

Image

Next post, I will discuss some basic concepts to help other WOW players make the paradigm shift to EVE.

By arizele Posted in eve Tagged

Leave a Reply

